Indian Premier League Schedule – IPL 2016 |BCCI

Indian Premier League Schedule – IPL 2016

Indian Premier League Schedule – IPL 2016 |BCCI

The tournament is scheduled to be played between 8 April and 29 May 2016, and the final could be held in Mumbai, since the Mumbai Indians will be the defending champions. The BCCI also said their will be two new teams in the IPL replacing two teams Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals have been suspended for two years due to spot fixing charges on 14 July 2015. Two new teams will be replacing them for two years.

2016 Vivo Indian Premier League

Dates 8 April 2016 – 29 May 2016
Administrator(s) BCCI
Cricket format Twenty20
Tournament format(s) Double round robin and playoffs
Host(s) India
Participants 8
Matches played 60
Official website

Indian Premier League Schedule – IPL 2016 Fixtures

The Indian Premier League will continue in its ninth edition and the Mumbai Indians enter the tournament as defending champions. The Indian Premier League schedule for 2016 will be released later in the year once the teams are decided and we will update it below.
Get the latest Indian Premier League jerseys & merchandise here
The eighth edition of the Indian Premier League was one of the best so far with record attendances and highly entertaining matches – many of which went right down to the wire. There were in total 60 matches played including the final which was played at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Ultimately it was Mumbai which stood as winners defeating CSK in the final.

The ninth edition of IPL is set to take place between April 8 and May 29, 2016. However the IPL schedule is still not decided.

One of the primary reasons is the uncertain fate of two of its franchises – Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royal. Both these teams have been embroiled in match-fixing controversy with the Justice Lodha committee finding them guilty and handing them two years suspension from IPL.

The last few editions of the Indian Premier League has had eight teams. The format of the competition has been divided into two stages – the double round robin league format and the knock out stage.
The double round robin format sees each team face the remaining teams twice – home and away. Once the league stage is over the top four ranked teams qualify for the next stage of the competition.

The top two teams face each other in the first qualifier with the winner going directly to the final. The third and fourth ranked team face-off in an eliminator in which the loser is automatically knocked out of the tournament. The winner plays the loser of the first qualifier to determine the second finalist. The final is a single knock-out match with the winner being crowned champion.

As of now there are six teams available for the next edition of IPL. The BCCI committee is yet to take a final decision on whether to go ahead with suspending Chennai and Rajasthan – giving their place to two new franchises – or to penalize them but allowing them to compete.

The IPL schedule will also depend on the final stance of the BCCI and the number of teams participating. This decision is still up in the air and thus fans will have to wait a little while longer to find out when they can get book their tickets to support their team from the stadium.

The latest Indian Premier League schedule for 2016 can be checked below once it’s released by the BCCI.


All Previous IPL Winners

Chennai Super Kings Squad, Team, Player List IPL 2016

Delhi Daredevils Squad, Team, Player List IPL 2016

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad, Team, Player List IPL 2016

Sunrisers Hyderabad Squad, Team, Player List IPL 2016

Mumbai Indians Squad, Team, Player List IPL 2016

Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad, Team, Player List IPL 2016

Kings XI Punjab Squad, Team, Player List IPL 2016

Complete List Of IPL In The Tournament|Owner|Captain|Coach|Previous Wins

IPL 2016 T20 Match Schedule

How To Get? Ticket To IPL

Main changes introduced this time in IPL 2016

Auction Of Indian Premier League Teams/ Players

Auction of Indian Premier League Teams(IPL T20) In 2016: Kaun Kitne Main Gaya
Did You Know the Five changes that should be introduced from IPL 2016 Season 9 This Time ??

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *